Skip to content
Couple relaxing on a sunny deck among pine trees with a portable power station running a grill and a cooler

Backup power

The power goes out. Your life doesn't.

A portable power station is a big, quiet battery with ordinary outlets. Plug in the fridge, the Wi-Fi, a CPAP or a lamp, and keep going through a storm, a heat wave or a weekend off-grid. No gas, no fumes, no pull cord.

27models from EcoFlow, Anker SOLIX, Jackery, Bluetti and DJI. Prices and specs checked on the makers' US sites on .

Disclosure: We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes our recommendations. How we make money.

about 15 hours

Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights

On our top pick, the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max

7 nights

Of CPAP

8 hours a night, with a heated humidifier (ResMed figure)

From $289.99

To get started

The Bluetti Elite 30 V2, when we checked

Our picks, by what you need

Our pick for outage backup

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 15 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 18 hours
  • CPAP: 7 nights
  • Phone charges: about 115

About 2 kWh, enough for a fridge through most outages. Leave the fridge plugged into it all the time: when the power cuts out it takes over in about a hundredth of a second, so the food stays cold and you may not even notice.

Specs
Capacity
2.05 kWh
Continuous AC output
2,400 W
Surge
4,800 W
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
Not stated
Weight
44.8 lb
Expandable
Not stated
Max solar input
500 W
Voltage
120V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
5 years

Best value at 2 kWh

Growatt INFINITY 2000 PRO

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 15 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 18 hours
  • CPAP: 7 nights
  • Phone charges: about 115

About $100 less than the 2 kWh EcoFlow, Anker and Bluetti units we list when we checked, with LFP cells and a 5-year warranty. The trade-offs: at 51 lb it is heavier than the Anker or Jackery, it switches over in about 20 ms rather than 10, and its extra batteries were sold out.

Specs
Capacity
2.05 kWh
Continuous AC output
2,400 W
Surge
Not stated
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
4,000 to 80% capacity
Weight
51 lb
Expandable
Yes, to 6.14 kWh (up to 2 extra batteries (2,048 Wh each); sold out on Nov 4 2026)
Max solar input
1,200 W
Voltage
120V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
5 years

Best value · apartments

Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 8 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 9 hours
  • CPAP: 3 nights
  • Phone charges: about 60

One of the cheapest full-size units we list. It refills from the wall in under an hour by Anker's figure and runs whisper-quiet (about 20 dB under light loads), so it suits a bedroom or small apartment. It can't take extra batteries later.

Specs
Capacity
1.02 kWh
Continuous AC output
2,000 W
Surge
3,000 W
Battery chemistry
Not stated
Rated cycles
4,000 to 80% capacity
Weight
24.9 lb
Expandable
No
Max solar input
600 W
Voltage
120V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
Not stated

Best one that can grow

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 8 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 9 hours
  • CPAP: 3 nights
  • Phone charges: about 60

Start small and add EcoFlow's extra batteries later (up to five times the capacity). Two solar inputs mean a couple of portable panels can refill it in a day, and it switches over fast enough to keep a computer or router running. 5-year warranty.

Specs
Capacity
1.02 kWh
Continuous AC output
1,800 W
Surge
3,600 W
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
4,000 to 80% capacity
Weight
27.6 lb
Expandable
Yes, to 5 kWh (with EcoFlow extra batteries (5 kWh needs a DELTA Pro 3 extra battery))
Max solar input
1,000 W
Voltage
120V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
5 years

Best for camping

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 8 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 9 hours
  • CPAP: 4 nights
  • Phone charges: about 60

The lightest full-size unit in our table, at 23.8 lb, with long-life LFP cells and up to a 5-year warranty (3 years plus 2 on registration). Enough outlets and solar input for a campsite. Jackery rates its cycles to 70% capacity, a lower bar than rivals' 80%.

Specs
Capacity
1.07 kWh
Continuous AC output
1,500 W
Surge
3,000 W
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
4,000 to 70% capacity
Weight
23.8 lb
Expandable
No
Max solar input
400 W
Voltage
120V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
5 years

Best for CPAP and small loads

EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 2 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 3 hours
  • CPAP: 1 night
  • Phone charges: about 15

A 10.4 lb box for $299 that switches over in about 10 ms, so a CPAP keeps running if the power blips. Add EcoFlow's extra battery to triple it. Check your own machine: our CPAP nights assume about 28 W with a heated humidifier, from ResMed's battery guide.

Specs
Capacity
0.29 kWh
Continuous AC output
600 W
Surge
1,200 W
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
3,000 to 80% capacity
Weight
10.4 lb
Expandable
Yes, to 0.86 kWh (with RIVER 3 Plus extra batteries)
Max solar input
220 W
Voltage
120V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
Not stated

Best for RVs and vans

Anker SOLIX F3000

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 23 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 27 hours
  • CPAP: 11 nights
  • Phone charges: about 175

Plugs straight into an RV with a TT-30 outlet that delivers its full output, takes a lot of solar, and grows to four times the capacity with Anker's batteries. At 91.5 lb it rolls rather than carries.

Specs
Capacity
3.07 kWh
Continuous AC output
3,600 W
Surge
7,200 W
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
4,000
Weight
91.5 lb
Expandable
Yes, to 12.29 kWh (with up to three BP3000 expansion batteries)
Max solar input
2,400 W
Voltage
120V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
Not stated

Best for running home circuits

Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 29 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 34 hours
  • CPAP: 14 nights
  • Phone charges: about 220

240-volt power for a well pump or a transfer switch, lots of solar input, and room to grow into whole-home backup. It was $399 cheaper than the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 with more output when we checked.

Specs
Capacity
3.84 kWh
Continuous AC output
6,000 W
Surge
Not stated
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
3,000
Weight
136.7 lb
Expandable
Yes, to 26.88 kWh (with up to six BP3800 expansion batteries)
Max solar input
3,200 W
Voltage
120/240V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
5 years

Cheapest way to 240 V

Growatt HELIOS 3600

  • Fridge, Wi-Fi and lights: about 27 hours
  • Fridge alone: about 33 hours
  • CPAP: 13 nights
  • Phone charges: about 210

120 V and 240 V from one unit for about $800 less than the Anker F3800 Plus when we checked, with LFP cells and room for four extra batteries. It puts out 3,600 W against the Anker's 6,000 W, so check your well pump's starting draw first. 99 lb, on wheels.

Specs
Capacity
3.69 kWh
Continuous AC output
3,600 W
Surge
Not stated
Battery chemistry
LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Rated cycles
4,000
Weight
99 lb
Expandable
Yes, to 18.09 kWh (up to 4 extra batteries (3.6 kWh each))
Max solar input
2,000 W
Voltage
120/240V
Installation
Plug in yourself
Warranty
5 years

*Prices and specifications are from each manufacturer's US website, checked , , . Prices change often, sometimes daily during sales; the seller's page is the final word. Cycle ratings are the maker's own figures, measured to different end points, so treat them as rough guides.

Every model compared (full specs)

Sorted by capacity. Swipe sideways on a phone. "Expands to" uses the maker's own add-on batteries on one unit. A dash means the maker does not publish the figure on its US page.

Portable power stations compared by published specs and price
ModelCapacityAC outputChemistryRated cyclesWeightExpands toSolar inputWarrantyPrice*$/kWh
EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus (opens in a new tab)0.29 kWh600 WLFP3,00010.4 lb0.86 kWh220 W—$299$1,045
Bluetti Elite 30 V2 (opens in a new tab)0.29 kWh600 WLFP3,0009.48 lbNo200 W5 yr$289.99$1,007
EcoFlow DELTA 3 (opens in a new tab)1.02 kWh1,800 WLFP4,00027.6 lb5 kWh500 W5 yr$629list $699$614
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus (opens in a new tab)1.02 kWh1,800 WLFP4,00027.6 lb5 kWh1,000 W5 yr$719list $799$702
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 (opens in a new tab)1.02 kWh2,000 W—4,00024.9 lbNo600 W—$499.99list $699.99$488
Bluetti Elite 100 V2 (opens in a new tab)1.02 kWh1,800 WLFP4,00025 lb—1,000 W5 yr$489list $499$478
DJI Power 1000 V2 (opens in a new tab)1.02 kWh2,600 WLFP4,000—11.26 kWh——$699$683
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 (opens in a new tab)1.07 kWh1,500 WLFP4,00023.8 lbNo400 W5 yr$559$522
Bluetti AC180 (opens in a new tab)1.15 kWh1,800 WLFP3,50035.3 lb—500 W5 yr$499$433
ALLPOWERS R1500 (opens in a new tab)1.15 kWh1,800 WLFP3,50036.8 lb4.61 kWh650 W5 yr$539$468
Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus (opens in a new tab)1.26 kWh2,000 WLFP4,00032 lb5.06 kWh800 W5 yr$619list $699$489
ALLPOWERS S2000 Pro (opens in a new tab)1.45 kWh2,400 WNMC2,50028.66 lbNo1,000 W5 yr$549$378
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 (opens in a new tab)2.04 kWh2,200 WLFP4,00039.5 lbNo400 W5 yr$999$489
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max (opens in a new tab)2.05 kWh2,400 WLFP—44.8 lb—500 W5 yr$899list $1,199$439
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus (opens in a new tab)2.05 kWh3,000 WLFP——10 kWh—5 yr$1,199list $1,599$585
Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 (opens in a new tab)2.05 kWh2,400 WLFP4,00041.7 lb4.1 kWh800 W—$899.99list $1,199.99$439
Bluetti AC200L (opens in a new tab)2.05 kWh2,400 WLFP3,00062.4 lb8.19 kWh1,200 W5 yr$899$439
Growatt INFINITY 2000 PRO (opens in a new tab)2.05 kWh2,400 WLFP4,00051 lb6.14 kWh1,200 W5 yr$799$390
Bluetti Elite 200 V2 (opens in a new tab)2.07 kWh2,600 WLFP6,00053.4 lbNo1,000 W5 yr$899$434
Bluetti Elite 300 (opens in a new tab)3.01 kWh2,400 WLFP6,00057.98 lb—1,200 W5 yr$1,699$564
Anker SOLIX F3000 (opens in a new tab)3.07 kWh3,600 WLFP4,00091.5 lb12.29 kWh2,400 W—$1,399.99list $1,899.99$456
ALLPOWERS R3500 (opens in a new tab)3.17 kWh3,200 WLFP3,50093 lb6.34 kWh2,000 W5 yr$1,199$378
Growatt HELIOS 3600 (opens in a new tab)3.69 kWh3,600 WLFP4,00099 lb18.09 kWh2,000 W5 yr$1,599$434
Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus (opens in a new tab)3.84 kWh6,000 WLFP3,000136.7 lb26.88 kWh3,200 W5 yr$2,399.99list $2,999.99$625
Bluetti Elite 400 (opens in a new tab)3.84 kWh2,600 WLFP—85.98 lb—1,000 W5 yr$1,399$364
EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 (opens in a new tab)4.1 kWh4,000 WLFP4,000113.54 lb12.29 kWh2,600 W5 yr$2,799list $3,299$683
Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus (opens in a new tab)5.04 kWh7,200 WLFP4,000134.5 lb60 kWh—5 yr$3,499$694

*Prices and specifications are from each manufacturer's US website, checked , , . Prices change often, sometimes daily during sales; the seller's page is the final word. Cycle ratings are the maker's own figures, measured to different end points, so treat them as rough guides.

Bigger whole-home systems such as the EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra, Bluetti Apex 300 and installed batteries are on our home battery backup guide.

Head-to-head comparisons

How we chose

We started from the current US line-ups of the five brands that dominate searches for power stations, kept models that were listed for sale on the maker's US site, and copied their specifications and prices from those pages on the date shown. We have not lab-tested these units, and we publish no star ratings.

  • Price per kWh at the listed price, because sale prices swing widely.
  • LFP chemistry and a cycle rating stated to 80% capacity.
  • Continuous and surge output high enough for the use (a fridge compressor, an RV air conditioner, a well pump).
  • Solar input, which decides how fast it refills off-grid.
  • Expansion, UPS switchover time and warranty, where stated.
  • Availability: we avoid picking models that were out of stock, and say so when we list them.

Commissions play no part: some brands pay us when you buy through our links and others do not, and the picks would be the same either way. See our affiliate disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

What size portable power station do I need?

Add up the watts of what you'll run and the hours you'll run it, then allow about 15 to 20 percent for inverter losses. A 1 kWh station runs 100 W of devices for roughly 8 to 9 hours. For a fridge and essentials through a night, 2 kWh is a comfortable size; to back up home circuits for a day, look at 4 kWh and up with 120/240 V output, or use our battery sizer.

What is the difference between a portable power station and a solar generator?

Mostly marketing. A solar generator is a portable power station sold with solar panels. The station is a battery with an inverter and outlets; the panels recharge it. Any station with a solar input can be a solar generator if you add compatible panels.

LFP or NMC: which battery chemistry is better?

LFP (lithium iron phosphate) is now standard on nearly every new model we list. It is rated for thousands of cycles and is more thermally stable than the NMC cells older models used, at the cost of some extra weight. Check that the cycle rating is to 80% capacity; some makers rate to 70%.

Can a portable power station run a refrigerator?

Yes, if its continuous output covers the fridge's running watts and its surge rating covers the compressor's start-up. Every 1 kWh-plus model in our table has at least 1,500 W continuous and 2,700 W surge or more where stated, which covers a typical household fridge. Capacity sets how long: check your fridge's yearly kWh on its EnergyGuide label and divide by 365 for a daily figure.

Can I use a portable power station as a UPS?

Many can. Look for a stated switchover time: models at 10 ms or less, such as the EcoFlow DELTA 3 series and the Anker C1000 Gen 2, are quick enough for most computers and routers. Jackery lists 20 ms for its v2 models.

Specifications and prices are copied from manufacturers' US websites on the date shown and change often, especially during sales. Confirm them with the seller before you buy. See our disclaimer.

Sources

  1. EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus product page — checked October 15, 2026
  2. Bluetti Elite 30 V2 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  3. EcoFlow DELTA 3 product page — checked October 15, 2026
  4. EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus product page — checked October 15, 2026
  5. Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  6. Bluetti Elite 100 V2 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  7. DJI Power 1000 V2 product page — checked October 15, 2026
  8. Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 product page — checked October 15, 2026
  9. Bluetti AC180 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  10. ALLPOWERS R1500 product page — checked November 4, 2026
  11. Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus product page — checked October 15, 2026
  12. ALLPOWERS S2000 Pro product page — checked November 4, 2026
  13. Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 product page — checked October 15, 2026
  14. EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max product page — checked October 15, 2026
  15. EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus product page — checked October 15, 2026
  16. Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  17. Bluetti AC200L product page — checked October 26, 2026
  18. Growatt INFINITY 2000 PRO product page — checked November 4, 2026
  19. Bluetti Elite 200 V2 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  20. Bluetti Elite 300 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  21. Anker SOLIX F3000 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  22. ALLPOWERS R3500 product page — checked November 4, 2026
  23. Growatt HELIOS 3600 product page — checked November 4, 2026
  24. Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus product page — checked October 26, 2026
  25. Bluetti Elite 400 product page — checked October 26, 2026
  26. EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 product page — checked October 15, 2026
  27. Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus product page — checked October 15, 2026

Photo: Jackery Power Station on Unsplash (Unsplash License).

Where next?