Head to head
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Enphase IQ Battery 5P
Specs and prices from the manufacturers' US sites, checked .
Disclosure: We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes our recommendations. How we make money.
The short answer
Powerwall 3 is one big 13.5 kWh, 11.5 kW battery with a built-in solar inverter, and it was the cheaper brand per installed kWh on EnergySage ($967 vs $1,429). Enphase's IQ Battery 5P comes in 5 kWh blocks with a 15-year warranty (vs 10) and stated LFP chemistry, which suits a smaller start or an existing Enphase solar system. Three 5Ps (15 kWh, 11.5 kW together) roughly match one Powerwall 3's capacity and power, at Enphase's higher average cost per kWh.
Choose Tesla Powerwall 3 for the lowest installed cost per kWh and high power in a single box, especially with new solar.
Choose Enphase IQ Battery 5P for the longer warranty, a smaller starting size, or if you already have Enphase microinverters.
Specs side by side
| Spec | Tesla Powerwall 3 | Enphase IQ Battery 5P |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 13.5 kWh | 5 kWh |
| Continuous AC output | 11,500 W | 3,840 W |
| Surge / peak | Not stated | 7,680 W |
| Battery chemistry | Not stated | LFP |
| Rated cycles | Not stated | 6,000 |
| Weight (lb) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Expands to | 94.5 kWh | Not stated |
| Max solar input | Not stated | Not stated |
| AC outlets | Not stated | Not stated |
| UPS switchover | Not stated | Not stated |
| Voltage | 120/240V | 120/240V |
| Warranty (years) | 10 | 15 |
| Price on maker's site* | Installed price by quote | Installed price by quote |
| Price per kWh | Not stated | Not stated |
| Where to buy | Tesla Powerwall 3 at Tesla (opens in a new tab) | Enphase IQ Battery 5P at Enphase (opens in a new tab) |
Tesla Powerwall 3: worth knowing
- Built-in solar inverter, so one box handles both panels and storage.
- Continuous output is configurable (5.8, 7.6, 10 or 11.5 kW) per Tesla's datasheet.
- Sold and installed through Tesla and Tesla-certified installers only.
Enphase IQ Battery 5P: worth knowing
- Warranty is 15 years or 6,000 cycles, the longest of the batteries we list.
- Small 5 kWh units stack, so you can start small and add more.
- Peak output 7.68 kW for 3 seconds, for motor starts.
Bold green marks the better figure where higher or lower is clearly better.
*Prices and specifications are from each manufacturer's US website, checked . Prices change often, sometimes daily during sales; the seller's page is the final word. Cycle ratings are the maker's own figures, measured to different end points, so treat them as rough guides.
How we compared
We compare only figures the manufacturers publish for their US models, and we link each one below. We have not lab-tested these units. Capacity is the rated battery capacity; usable AC energy is lower, typically by 10 to 20 percent, because of inverter losses. Cycle ratings are each maker's claim to its own end point. See how we choose products.
Specifications and prices are copied from manufacturer websites on the date shown and change often. Confirm them with the seller before buying. See our disclaimer.
Sources
- Tesla Powerwall 3 product page — checked October 15, 2026
- Enphase IQ Battery 5P product page — checked October 15, 2026
Keep going
- Best portable power stationsEvery model we track, in one table
- Battery sizerWork out how many kWh you actually need
- EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus vs Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2Specs, prices and a verdict
- Jackery vs EcoFlow: Which Power Station Brand Is Better?Brand line-ups compared size for size
- Anker SOLIX vs EcoFlow: Power Stations Compared Size for SizeBrand line-ups compared size for size
- EcoFlow vs Bluetti: Power Stations Compared Size for SizeBrand line-ups compared size for size