Skip to content
Smiling woman in a helmet riding an e-bike along a sunny tree-lined path

E-bikes for heavy riders

Rated for 450 lb. From $1,199.

The number that matters is the maker's maximum load, and whether they also state a rider limit. Here is what each bike is rated for, straight from the makers' pages.

Disclosure: We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes our recommendations. How we make money.

Bikes that fit

Best value at 450 lb

Kingbull Trekker

Kingbull rates it for 450 lb of rider and cargo. The step-thru frame is easier to mount, the torque sensor adds power as you push, and the 960 Wh battery is bigger than most at this price.

  • 450 lb max load
  • 90 Nm, 1400 W peak
  • 960 Wh battery
  • 79 lb bike
$1,199when we checked*Check price (opens in a new tab)

Most battery, for long rides

Kingbull Dual Battery Voyager 2.0

Two batteries for 1,440 Wh, the most here, plus a 200 lb rear rack. It is also the only bike on this page whose maker names its class (Class 3 default, can set Class 2).

  • 450 lb max load
  • 1,440 Wh
  • 200 lb rack
  • Step-thru
$1,449when we checked*Check price (opens in a new tab)

Full suspension on rough roads

Himiway D5 2.0 ST

Front and rear suspension (100 mm fork, 130 mm rear travel) and 4-inch Maxxis tires take the sting out of rough roads, with 90 Nm and a step-through frame. Himiway rates it for 400 lb.

  • 400 lb max load
  • 90 Nm
  • Class 1, 2 or 3 (selectable)
  • 92 lb bike
$1,999when we checked*Check price (opens in a new tab)

Every bike rated 400 lb or more

E-bikes rated for 400 lb or more of rider and cargo
BikePriceMax loadMotorTorqueBatteryBike weight
Kingbull Trekker (opens in a new tab)$1,199450 lb750 W (1,400 W peak)90 Nm960 Wh79 lb
Kingbull Voyager 2.0 (opens in a new tab)$1,199450 lb750 W80 Nm720 Wh76 lb
Kingbull Verve (opens in a new tab)$1,199450 lb750 W (1,400 W peak)90 Nm960 Wh77 lb
Kingbull Jumper Go (opens in a new tab)$1,249450 lb750 W (1,400 W peak)90 Nm960 Wh81 lb
Kingbull Dual Battery Voyager 2.0 (opens in a new tab)$1,449450 lb750 Wnot stated1,440 Wh84 lb
Himiway C3 Cargo (opens in a new tab)$1,499440 lb750 Wnot stated48 V 20 Ah (960 Wh)80 lb
Kingbull EX Titan (opens in a new tab)$1,699450 lb750 W (1,400 W peak)90 Nm960 Wh84 lb
ENGWE E26 3.0 (opens in a new tab)$1,799400 lb1,200 W (2,000 W peak)160 Nm960 Wh85.9 lb
Himiway D5 2.0 ST (opens in a new tab)$1,999400 lb750 W (1,300 W peak)90 Nm48 V 15 Ah (720 Wh)92 lb
Himiway D5 2.0 (opens in a new tab)$2,199400 lb750 W (1,300 W peak)90 Nm48 V 15 Ah (720 Wh)92 lb

Specs and prices from each maker's US website on November 2, 2026. Range is the maker's own claim, usually at the lowest assist level with a light rider on flat ground. Max load is rider plus cargo. We have not ridden these bikes.

Max load is not the same as rider limit

Makers quote a maximum load: you plus your bag, groceries or child seat. Some also quote a lower limit for the rider alone, and that is the number to check. Himiway's D5 2.0 20-inch, for example, lists 440 lb of load but a 265 lb rider, which is why it isn't on this page. Kingbull and ENGWE pages state only the maximum load. If you weigh over 300 lb, email the maker before you buy and ask for the rider limit in writing; it protects your warranty too.

Rack limits are separate again. The rear rack has its own rating (150 lb on the Trekker, 200lb on the Dual Battery Voyager 2.0). Your weight plus everything on the rack still has to fit under the bike's maximum load.

Wondering what an e-bike would save you against driving? Our e-bike guide works out the cost per mile, the class rules and the state rebates.

Frequently asked questions

What is the weight limit on an e-bike?

Most makers state a maximum load, which is rider plus anything you carry. The bikes on this page are rated 400 to 450 lb by their makers. A few makers also state a separate rider limit, and it can be much lower: Himiway's D5 2.0 20-inch lists 440 lb of load but a 265 lb rider. Read both numbers on the product page before you buy.

Can a 300 lb person ride an e-bike?

Yes, on a bike whose maker rates it for that. Kingbull rates the Trekker and several others for 450 lb of rider and cargo, but its pages don't state a separate rider limit, so ask Kingbull to confirm for your weight. Lectric eBikes's XP Trike2 750 states a 330 lb rider limit outright.

Does rider weight change the range?

Yes. Makers usually quote range with a light rider on flat ground at the lowest assist level; ENGWE's E26 3.0 page, for example, says its figures were measured with a 165 lb rider on flat concrete. A heavier rider, hills and higher assist all use more battery, so expect less than the headline figure and pick a bigger battery if you ride far.

Should a heavy rider pick fat tires?

All of the bikes here use 3 to 4 inch tires, which spread load and soften bumps. Keep them inflated to the pressure printed on the tire sidewall; under-inflated tires wear faster and roll slower, especially under more weight.

We compare makers' stated specs; we have not ridden these bikes. Prices are from the makers' US websites on November 2, 2026, several during sales, and change often. Kingbull, Himiway and ENGWE links may earn us a commission; Lectric eBikes is a plain link. See our disclaimer.

Sources

  1. Kingbull Trekker product page — checked November 2, 2026
  2. Kingbull Voyager 2.0 product page — checked November 2, 2026
  3. Kingbull Verve product page — checked November 2, 2026
  4. Kingbull Jumper Go product page — checked November 2, 2026
  5. Kingbull Dual Battery Voyager 2.0 product page — checked November 2, 2026
  6. Himiway C3 Cargo product page — checked November 2, 2026
  7. Kingbull EX Titan product page — checked November 2, 2026
  8. ENGWE E26 3.0 product page — checked November 2, 2026
  9. Himiway D5 2.0 ST product page — checked November 2, 2026
  10. Himiway D5 2.0 product page — checked November 2, 2026
  11. Lectric eBikes XP Trike2 750 product page — checked November 2, 2026

Photo: KBO Bike on Unsplash (Unsplash License).